Monday, April 30, 2007

Respect Due...

I have been fortunate enough to see both of these gentlemen tear it up in an intimate environment. While moving, this performance does not do their talent justice.

enjoy!


Sunday, April 01, 2007

Easter Beaster...

Lots of watching and reading going on this week. Though I was tired, like I was beaten with a sock full of nickels, I was able to finish The United States of Wal*Mart. While it was an entertaining read on one of the lyingest of lying liars of corporate America, having worked for the devil itself, there really was nothing I didn't know. I was however shocked and surprised at the rate at which Wal*Mart is growing. John Dicker, the author, did a good job of investigating some of the seedier business practices Wally-World would rather you didn't know. For that alone he should be commended.

When not reading about the evil of that fucking Smiley-faced roll back the prices and not pay anyone a livable wage bastard, I watched Will Ferrell's reasonable new film, “Stranger than Fiction.” A drama-dy, I was a bit hesitant going in. I thought this was going to be another of those “Saturday Night Live guys, who have made some cash with comedies and now want to try some real acting...but fail miserably” movies. Ferrell blew me away with his ability to not be “Frank the Tank, Elf, Ron Burgundy” or any of the other cast of village idiots he is so well known for. STF, is about an IRS agent, Harold Crick, who is literally the main character of a book being written by struggling writer, Karen Eiffel, played by Emma Thompson. Ferrell is a chronically boring IRS agent with an ability for figures, slight OCD and the ability to bore anyone with the unfortunate luck to run into him. Not until Ferrell is assigned to audit the books of ex-ivy-league law student- turned anarchist baker, Ana Pascal, played by Maggie Gyllenhaal, does Ferrell wake up and realize, he has missed most of his life. Ferrell's realization coupled with the fact he feels he is going insane, due to the voices in his head, make for a very interesting film. The cast also includes Queen Latifa, Dustin Hoffman and Tony Hale, who most will know as Buster Bluth, from the ridiculously canceled Fox comedy, Arrested Development. STF moves slowly at times but overall I felt the ending was worthy of my time.

I also attempted to watch, The Illusionist this week but found this was more of a vehicle for a fitful nights rest, than anything else. One should not look at this film and be comforted by the fact both Edward Norton and Paul Giamatti signed on for this film. I know most consider Jessica Biel to be a case full of eye candy, but she can't act her way out of a paper bag and if she has squandered the money she made on 7th Heaven, then she deserves to go down in obscurity with any movie shot in the year 2006 in sepia-tone. I don't know if the producers thought people would think this is a clever trick or that no one would notice. NEWSFLASH: if the film is slow and quiet, having a dark tone is only going to encourage people to sleep even more!!!

Friday night, I went to a showcase of superhero plays, written by child authors, sponsored by the Manton Avenue Project. The works were well crafted and funny but a night of children's theater can leave one yearning for some intellectual stimulation.

Work has been well work and though there are lay-offs all around, my position seems to be safe for the time being. That does not mean I have stopped looking for a big-boy job because as my 340th birthday approaches, it would be nice to be paid like an adult for once in my life.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Monday, March 26, 2007

Catch Up...

At a time when I don't think I have ever been more broke in my life, it's odd to me I am as happy as I am. Maybe I just think I am happy, or maybe this is some sort of really intense and elaborate dream? One I will wake from and discover the life I live now has all been the product of a fitful nights sleep. I will wake and be married with 2.5 children, a house in the sticks and a golden retriever or two. How the hell does someone have 0.5 children anyway?

It's Monday and I am supposedly going to the mall in about an hour or so with Princess. I really have no love for the mall, especially Providence Place. The parking garage alone is enough to cause seizures in the most patient of drivers. That coupled with the fact this mall in particular attracts the pillars of society, just make me wish I could somehow dodge this bullet. If nothing else, I will get to hang out with Princess, maybe have some lunch and overall be more social and possibly productive than if I were to stay at home all day.

Last week I went and saw The 300. It was entertaining and had something for everyone. I recommend it as a date movie for people who have been dating awhile. There were plenty of fine examples of men, who worked out way to hard to get roles, needing no acting ability whatsoever. In contrast to this, the amount of combat and violence in the film is such that it will hold even the simplest of knuckle-draggers attention. While it was entertaining, I was glad I caught it mid-week at the showcase and payed only $6. Had I been an unfortunate soul, who took in the film on opening weekend and payed $10.50, I might have been somewhat more disenchanted with The 300 overall.

Other than that, not too much has been new. I am looking for an "in addition to" job to supplement my kingly salary at "The Unit." Something mindless might be what I'm looking for, but at this point, as long as I'm not scrubbing a toilet or picking up after people with 2/3d's less IQ points than me, I'm ok with whatever the job might entail. Ah...America! What a country.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Monday, March 05, 2007

Monday Winter Haiku

Old Man Winter sucks
like a bus station hooker
snow in March is gross

Case of Mundays....


[Is this good for drinkin?]



I awoke this morning in a haze something like Sunday mornings in college. All I could remember from my slumber was, whilst I slept, I joined Sarah McLachlan's All Clarinet Orchestra and the George Dubya, had recommended I have little chocolate donettes for breakfast.

Pondering the source of said advice, I had a fresh mango and about 4 glasses of water. The older I get, the longer it takes for this jackass to recover from the weekend. As much as I love going out with the girls, sometimes getting, "girl-drink-drunk," it's not always the best plan for me. However, true to superhero form, I was able to be witty and charming as I battled my arch-enemy...gravity, while drinking my favorite black wrath, as if they were never going to make it again.

Work on Saturday was a mild annoyance. Even though there was not much hullabaloo on J-Unit, the fact I was not able to be home, on my porch, reading a book and sleeping of the remainders of a hangover, made me somewhat perturbed. Then again there are worse things in life. I was actually able to get out of work almost on time, which was great because, this guy needed to crash and burn like no other.

Saturday night I watched a very gritty but good documentary called, "Dark Days." It wasn't exactly the feel good film of the year but it does give a great look into the staggering problems of poverty, drug abuse and homelessness in NYC. There really is not too much to say about this film without giving everything away. If you are into documentaries or just things to raise your social consciousness, it will be up your alley. However, I do need to mention the audio levels were somewhat low in part, making things tough to hear. Visually, Dark Days is well...dark, but then again you are living underground.

Yesterday I spent snoozing in and out of consciousness. I was awake just long enough to get the garbage out and then more sleep. I think my body is trying to fight off the impending doom of infection which seems to encircle me every time I go to work. The coughs and hacks of co-workers and inmates alike is enough to make Julia Child roll in her grave. Now on the final day of my weekend, I have to go into work for a stupid unit meeting.

How much fun is that? I tell you, nothing but savages in this town.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Tuesday, February 27, 2007

Babylon...

Tonight I was jolted by a thought, maybe even a memory. You always have to be wary of the shuffle feature on whatever your music player of choice may be. If you are not careful, it might just throw you that third strike, curve ball you were sure you were going to take...downtown. While engaged in the many pursuit of purchasing hygiene products from the body shop, (screw you, I like to smell nicey) Dar William's, "If I wrote you" came up. I have heard this song a dozen or so times over the past few months, it must have been on as background music, or maybe I was engaged in writing or whatever, but I don't think I actually heard the song.

Tonight...I heard the song. It was a kin to something like a sucker punch. It brought back memories of college, more specifically of Heidi, the one who got away. Why Heidi got away is debatable, but for now I am choosing to place the blame on myself and fear. Fuck fear. For what it's worth, Heidi was one of the few people who I could honestly be me with. I'm sure I've crafted many a tale of lament about Heidi in previous posts, so if there is anything anyone wants to know, email me, otherwise I will try to put this one to bed. What is most ironic about tonight, the song title, my memories of Heidi and about a million other things, is we used to email all the time. The messages were something I'm sure we both checked our inboxes frequently for. I know I did.

After we last saw each other, after my heart was broken and after the last of my money had been spent on a fucking bus ticket, there were no more emails. There were no more phone calls, no more care packages, nothing. Maybe a better way to look at it would be to say, "there were no more lies." Heidi told me she had never said certain things to me because she was thinking about my feelings (and deep down inside I honestly believe that.) So tonight when Ms. Williams asked if she wrote the object of her affection, the breaker of her heart, the recipient of her letter, and answered her own question with, "you will not write me again" I started doing what I do best and deconstructing any defense I might have developed in regard to this matter.

The, "what-ifs" and "just one emails" bandied about in my head and in the end I said, "fuck it." Nothing good would come of it. I would write, she would respond and tell me how fucking great her married life is even though it's everything she told me she never wanted. I would fake happiness for her and maybe the emails would continue for a few weeks, but in the end what would I have accomplished beyond opening wounds I have done a good job of healing?

Even more funny, and I think, "the fates" have it out for me tonight, I wrote this post whilst listening to David Gray, the concert I went to at Madison Square Garden. The concert I emptied out my bank account for to buy tickets for both Heidi and I. The concert I attended alone, cause someone couldn't get out of work. Mr. Gray helped me through a rough time before and has done so again. For that I'm grateful. Slainte, Mr. Gray!!!

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Monday, February 26, 2007

Haiku Monday..."Tribute to Rude"

diabetes means
spending your day in numbers
always hated math

Saturday, February 24, 2007

Days go by...

I've never called myself a quitter, unless we talk about the time I took ice skating lessons early on in my life. Someone
just should have told me that was a bad idea and left it at that. The reason I mention quitting is, today I was expected to
be at work, and while I did not quit my job, I did call out sick. I mean every now and again, I think we all can say we need
a mental health day and to be perfectly honest, I was due. Things around the local grind have been fairly hectic and as I
have been the defacto boss, as my boss and my bosses boss have been on vacation or choosing to not come to work,
yours truly decided to take a long weekend.

In other news...

I would like to extend belated congrats to some of my favorite Minnesotans, Mary and Kevin H. Newly proud parents to
a health baby boy, I wish their family and friends all the best.

Moving right along...

Weather hasn't totally sucked as much this week. It's still cold but it did actually get warm enough for the second ice
age that surrounded my house to all but disappear. This is good as there are new gutters being put on. I watched the
special edition of Boondock Saints this week. Even if it was not the special edition, that film will always be special to
me. Sean Patrick Flanery is just a great actor. When you sit there and know you know someone from another film
but just cant place it, but they are not wearing any outlandish makeup or costuming, thats some good acting.

I have been experiencing somewhat of a drought of good tunes. Anyone listening to anything good? Anyone have
any suggestions for this jackass?

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Monday, February 19, 2007

Dispatches from home...

I originally started crafting this post about 20 hours ago. However, due to fucking technical difficulties, I had to stop.
In case you were wondering, no one in the state of rhode island has rock salt. I even set foot into the wal*mart, I was
fired from a decade ago, in hopes of finding something to melt the layer of ice, literally covering ever square inch of my humble abode.

No dice. I did however see several people who I worked with while I was still employed by wal*mart. I hate to be the naysayer but it seems to me none of these people have any aspirations for themselves if they are still there. Even with
the profit sharing, vesting and stock options, it's not like these people are going to be able to retire on what they are making. Now maybe I am being hasty and they are there because retirement plans have already been made, and they are just making extra money to blow at Foxwoods, Mohegan Sun or *gasp* Lincoln Park.

I received a call and email from my Citrus Queen this weekend. She wanted to check in with me and see how the week end was going, since the rest of the week was not all that stellar. CQ informed me a mutual friend and my collegiate roommate, was looking for someone to share an apartment in May. Normally I would jump at the chance to be reunited with DG but I have my health and student loans to consider. Once again, I can bend over and smile. Plus to be honest,the thought of moving to, "the windy city" when all I really want is to move south, seems kind of counter productive.

Still, hooking up with DG again would be interesting.

Anyone know of a good, licensed massage therapist in RI or surrounding MA? My neck and shoulders are turning into something akin to titanium and I'm not sure what to do about it. All I know is the pain is starting to get to me. *Yawn*
I guess it's time for a little more reading before bed.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Monday, February 12, 2007

A Little's Enough...

When all is said and done
Will we still feel pain inside?
Will the scars go away with night?
Try to smile for the morning light
It's like the best dream to have
Where every thing is not so bad
Every tear is so alone
Like God himself is coming home to say

I, I can do anything
If you want me here
And I can fix any thing
If you let me near
Where are those secrets now
That you're too scared to tell
I'd whisper them all aloud
So you can hear yourself

Green trees were the first sign
The deepest blue, the clearest sky
The silence came with the brightest eyes
And turned water into wine
The children ran to see
The parents stood in disbelief
And those who knew braced for the ride
The earth itself then came alive to say

I, I can do anything
If you want me here
And I can fix anything
If you let me near
Where are those secrets now
That you're too scared to tell
I whisper them all aloud
So you can hear yourself

I'm sorry I have to say it but you look like you're sad
Your smile is gone; I've noticed it bad
The cure is if you let in just a little more love
I promise you this, a little's enough

(Just a little...)

Nothing but Savages...

I'm sitting and typing and not really sure where I'm going with any of this. Most of me wants to scream until my vocal
chords are caked with dried blood. It has been a Monday. One of those Mondays that makes you want to crawl back
into bed and pull the covers over your head. A Monday that makes you want to fall back asleep and never wake up.

As of late things had seemed to be improving: no more depression meds, sleep habits more regular and life in general
just seemed semi-normal. I was pushing myself to move beyond my comfort zones. I was taking risks, whether or not
I thought they were going to pay off. I was actually starting to *gasp* enjoy myself.

Normally, when the hammer drops, I can sense it coming. Today it came special delivery...in the form of a fucking
car accident. A mere year and a half after my last accident, again I got hit coming out of my driveway. I love how
it is soley my responsibility to make sure there was no traffic coming. I did that. No one gave a citation to the
motherfucker who parked thier fucking jeep, half on the sidewalk-half on the street. No one asked if the driver of the
other vehicle was speeding. No one asked if anyone but me was at fault.

Gratefully, no one was hurt and damage to my car is minor. Of course I had to hit a BMW 325i, fresh from the body
shop, with an insurance agent as a passenger. People have been telling me all day, it was an accident and while I
agree, that doesn't make it suck any less, nor my insurance any cheaper. I can't afford collision now, so with this little
opportunity, it is most definetely out of my price range.

In other news...

The co-worker, who is no longer a co-worker, who I asked on a date, has either been to busy to return my call or was
just placating my offer and never had any intentions of meeting me for brunch, coffee, or several stiff drinks and a
meaningless make out session. I haven't decided whether or not I'm going to make a last ditch effort to connect with
her. I mean I know how busy life can get when changing jobs, but part of me feels as though I should have gleened
some message in txt message and call not returned.

Does anyone know where the well-read, single women hang out?

Up until about 2 O'Clock today I was considering an ibook. As my car made impact with the beamer, I watched the
ibook fly away on wings of insurance paper work. All things considered I'm doing ok with this latest monkey wrench
in my works. I'm on the brink of financial ruin and to be honest the only way I can see to solve the problem is to have
two of my "almost grown" male friends move in with me. I'm approaching 35 and yet, my life still resembles that of a
shitty Vince Vaughn / Luke Wilson film.

What makes matters worse is when you realize you're fundamentally a great person and yet you watch everything
crumble around you. It's enough to make someone ponder the sense of walking the path of the righteous man.

With any luck, Tom DeLonge and Angels & Airwaves will calm me enough to sleep. Back to the salt mine tomorrow.
What a great fucking weekend.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Saturday, February 10, 2007

You know...

One thing I've noticed...

I don't get the hits I once used to. I understand why. I mean it's simple really, this guy doesn't blog like he used to. This
guy doesn't do a lot of things like he used to but if empty promises are at all reassuring, this guy is going to try and blog
more or regularly

or

maybe more regularly, which may require several cups of coffee and some delicious bran muffins, of which I'm not allowed.


However, that is another story entirely.

I suppose I could bolster my hits by begging people to read my blog via myspace. Maybe a mass email to all of my
friends would help as well. I'm sure the inclusion of the phrases, "Free Ring Tones" or "Girls Who Hate Cock" would also
do the trick, alas I have never been one for smoke and mirrors.

As for me...

Things are good. The one you want never calls you back. Work, student loans and death are all inevitable parts of life.
Responsible drinking is a good thing, especially if you have a tendancy to drunk dial, (as I do.) More salad and less
burritos make less jackassjimmy, which is also a good thing. Time to read and catch up on some zzzZZZZ's.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Friday, January 26, 2007

Brrrrrr......!

I'm not a plumber, nor do I play one on tv. However, I was able to relight the pilot on my stove today. This is a great
and wondrous thing as it's colder than an eskimo's asshole today. I can only imaging it getting colder tonight and by
relighting the stove, at least I know the pipes in the house won't freeze. At any rate...

Winter: 265, 217

JackassJimmy: 2

TGIAF! Here in my world, today is thursday. While the rest of "normal" society celebrates the end of the work week, I
have one more day to go. Do I get mad? Does this aggrevate me? Not normally, because of having to work on Saturday,
I never, ever have a case of, "the mondays." There are more than a few perks to not working in corporate america.

Went out with bscrazy after work today. We grabbed coffee and then went to music magik. I bought her the Clumbsy,
by Our Lady Peace. I think if you are a fan of good, rock music, not the shit on the radio now, Clumbsy is definetly a
disc you need to own. I also picked up TSAR's self titled debut. While it's not as edgy as Band Girls Money, it's catchy
and is helping to fuel this post. I'm thinking about going to target and staples tonight to pick up the rest of the ink I need
to get my fucking printer to work. I also want to buy another floor lamp. In doing so, I will be able to sit in the WARM
basement and read.

Sunday I'm going to ask a coworker out for coffee. This is not someone I work with on a regular basis and it's someone
with whom I will never work again. Her last day is Sunday and it's fourth and 3 and I'm Tom "motherfuckin" Brady. Never
let em' see you sweat. In addition to that conquest, there has been some serious flirting going on at work. I guess it's just
the nature of the beast. I have to admit, sometimes it makes it difficult to keep my head in the game but, if nothing else,
it keeps you on your toes.

I'm torn between cooking and reading tonight. Either way, there is going to be some shopping to be done. If I cook, I want
to wait so that I can subject bscrazy to my culinary prowess, even if she is very, very wary. I hate driving on Friday night
to go shopping. Too many assholes, too much traffic, too much nonsense.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Tuesday, January 23, 2007

How About Them Apples...

Dear Epson and the people who write the software for the Epson brand printers.

To Whom It May Concern:

I have been a loyal customer for some time. I have backed the Epson brand and recommended it to friends and colleagues alike. Recently I have become frustrated with the labeling of your ink cartridges. As I am probably one of the most cynical people I know, I find it some what of a coincidence that the refills for the C68 printer and the C86 printer are placed remarkably close together. What am I getting at? Well after spending close to $70 at Staples on replacement ink, I came home, unwrapped and installed my new cartridges, only to find I was shit out of luck because, I had bought the C68 refills and not the C86.

So what is a guy on a budget to do? Well since the cartridges all fit into place, I was remotely optimistic they might work. What a fool I was! What type of evil corporate and technological sorcery have you people bewitched your products with that if an honest mistake is made, one cannot come back from the void?!?!? Are you so heartless as to give everyone the finger? What about all of the hardworking, blue-collar Americans, who purchase your products because they are both economical and reliable? Are we to assume that once you have our money, we are just dollar signs and decimal points to you? I would hope not but my cynicism leads me to believe otherwise.

So tonight, I ventured back to my local Staples to pick up a single, black ink cartridge. One that would let me print out important documents for: tax purposes, medical records and shopping lists; you know everyday kinds of things. Upon returning home I installed my new Epson brand cartridge and voila, guess what? My printer still will not fucking print! Why is this? Hmmm, let me go to your website and see what the great minds have in store for me. Looking through the FAQ's it seems once again I get to bend over and be railed by corporate cock. My fucking printer will not print, unless I have all cartridges installed, and they all have to have ink. So basically, whenever I need to buy ink for this marvel of technology, it's going to cost me the cost of the printer.

I will admit, I did try to be crafty and save myself some cash, as I am on a budget. I bought one of those generic refills, you know the ones that are almost half the price of your refills. Yeah, seems as though you don't want to let those work either. I have to confess I am somewhat angered by all of the chicanery I have encountered these past few days. While I think you make excellent products, your business practices leave something to be desired and in all honesty, I wish you all would lick me where I shit.

I, like a million other people, as well as yourselves, am busy and don't have time for the nonsense and ballyhoo of running around trying to find the square peg that will fit in the round hole. It would behoove your company to clearly label refills and be a little less tight-assed with all of these "cartridge cannot be recognized" messages. These are the kinds of things that make me want to throw your fucking printer out the fucking window and go and take food out of my children's mouths, so I can buy an HP printer.

I expect to see changes made, effective immediately, otherwise I hope you are all sodomized by a tribe of Alabama Hellbillies. Were it not for the relaxing music I have on now, I might have had the gumption to do the job myself.

Fuck You Very Much,
JJ

Monday, January 22, 2007

You know...

It was a good day. A long day, but a good one. Normally I like to sleep a little longer on my day off but, today
there were just things I had to do. Doctor's appointments to keep, phone calls to make and even though I feel
not to bad about it, I blew off the unit meeting at work. Fuck that shit. I'm there five days a week and it's not like
I'm going to get over time for the meeting, so why should I go in on my day off? Exactly...

The doctors was good, scary but good. Now is time to own up for all of the bullshit I have done in the past ten
years. Hey, you don't take care of yourself, the only person you can blame is yourself. Does that make it suck
any less? Of course not, but at least I know who to point the finger at.

Started writing workshop at the LC tonight. I think it went really well. Varying degrees of experience and ego and
overall a good mix. It may be to early to tell but I think I may want to continue on with the teacher. After one class,
she was able to get me to do what no one teacher has been able to make clear to me. Writing honestly, though it is
hard work, gave me a sense of accomplishment greater than the uneasiness I felt baring my secrets to strangers in
a four-walled workshop.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Tuesday, January 09, 2007

Check under the bed...

When it rains, it pours and this old man is in need of some snoring...among other things.

Could not fall asleep for the life of me last night. Lots of intrusive thoughts: injury, motor accidents, monsters in the house. What's odd is that it truly is the monsters in the house that gets me all fired up. I mean, you and I know there are no monsters, but trying telling that to my subconscious, who as of late, has been a complete bastard.

Saturday was 60 degrees and I was sweating wearing jeans to work. Today it was cold as fuck and at times, I wish I brought my winter coat. It would be nice if Winter would be consistent but I am not going to complain about the warm, warm temperatures for January.

Went to China Buffet tonight. *bangs head on desk* Why do I do these things to myself? It was not dreadful but it was not good either. Last time I force myself through a meal like this, I was living in London and happened upon a Chinese buffet, Yee Tung. Apparently the buffet was really buckets of curried onions and unless you ordered a liquor drink or a cola, you could not have a glass. To be honest, I was looking around for the community water bucket by the end of the meal. Yes, so dinner was not the best tonight and I have since become a gastronomical disaster since then. I'm going to go and take some emergen-c before bed. It cures hangovers and heart disease and this horrid flu going around, why shouldn't it be able to wash this horrid peanut oil fury out of me?

Tomorrow I'm going to start to carry my digi-camera with me. I'm going to document my life (or at least try to) for a year. I may only last a month or even a day but it's something to do besides obsess about the negative.

Work has been busy and I am up for a promotion. No reason I should not get it, as I am the senior most operative on the unit, save for my supervisor. It's a little more pocket money, very little but at least it's better than nothing. Myspace has again put me in contact with some old friends. I can see how people hate it. I mean there is a very real evil to it but with everything. All in moderation. Time to change the wash over.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

A Quick Note...

before bed.

I don't know where "the red" is coming from but it's coming and more importantly, I'm not so sure I know how to stop it.
It may have something to do with the fact I had to go to a meeting, at work, on my day off. There is also the writing class
I signed up for that meets twice, to the tune of $75. I know that's not a lot of money to most people, but when you put your
body on the line, everyday like I do, $75 can seem like a kings ransom. *sigh* Maybe it's time to look for another job. It's
not like I haven't put my time in. Two and a half years in a month or so and gratefully only one major injury and some minor
bumps and bruises. I just wish I could find something where I was remotely happy and didn't have to suck any type of
corporate or soul-sucking cock. Aye...there's the rub now, isn't it?

Hung out with el capitan and bscrazy after work today. Was supposed to go and join Bally's with bscrazy but I don't have
the $$$ and FUCK BALLY'S. They don't want me to be healthy, they want to sell me shit. If nothing else, the treadmill in
the basement is reminder enough I have what I need to work out. I really don't need to work with weights yet. I mean
eventually it would be nice, but I'd like to drop a few more lbs before that happens.

I think I am attracted to that which is not good for me. We know this is the case with food but with women, I am finding it
harder and harder to stay away from people who are either just bad news in general or who in the long run, will absolutely
crush me in some way. bscrazy might just be the later of those two. Smart, funny, independent, attractive, (-)smoker
and a co-worker but yet, possesses something making me want to be less of a loner Dottie, less of a rebel.

Maybe in all actuality, it's more of a rebel. We hang out and I yearn for cool shoes and cool tattoos, however, these could
also be the ramblings of a scene-king, whose reign came to an end about eleventy billion years ago.

And with that, I'm off to bed.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Monday, January 08, 2007

So this is...

the new year.

I used to think I knew what was going on, then I listened to William Shatner's latest recording, "Has Been."
Clearly the world is coming to an end. With such big names as Ben Folds, Brad Paisley, Andrian Belew and
Henry Rollins, you'd think liking this disc would be easy. You'd think...

But its not.

Nope. It has all the herky-jerky vibe of that late 60's spoken word, bongojamzilla that probably made Shatner think
he was something more than James T. Kirk. SURVEY SAYS!!!! XXX

Anywho, work has been busy, busy, busy. If nothing else it helped the holidays pass by. The older I get, the more
I seem to resent things most take joy in. This is probably due to the industries I work in. Come to think of it, retail can
ruin Christmas for anyone. Even though I have been out of that racket for awhile, all the hustle and bustle of the holiday
season usually make me want to take a hostage.

Anyone get anything good for the holiday? I got a case of diet dr. pepper and an erection, so it was a banner year at the
Jackass residence.

My musical recommendations as of late are as follows:

Vince Guaraldi: A Charlie Brown Christmas. Shut up...this one puts even me in a good mood.

Breaking Benjamin: Phobia. Third release. Very, very polished but songs are still good and I just dig these guys.

Thirty Seconds to Mars: A Beautiful Lie. The more I listen to these guys, the less I hope Jared Leto continues acting.

I hope everyone had a safe and happy holiday season. I recommend Emergen-c for hangovers and any and all ailments.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ

Monday, December 18, 2006

Slow down Charlie Brown...


You know, it wasn't so long ago that about this time of year, people were in a much better mood. I remember holiday
seasons from my childhood and even into my early teens, where there was definately more peace on Earth and goodwill
towards all people...not just men. What I want to know is, when the fuck did we all become so fucking miserable?

I mean I know today's society is not what we grew up in and although we have to live in it, we don't have to regress to the
base-level behaviors of those who struggle with the concepts of being able to function in a normal society. Take a look around
as you are out trying to find "that perfect gift, for that special someone." People look as though they would rather be at hard
labor than out shopping. Why? What has changed? Depending upon who you ask, your answer will greatly vary.

Some will say that people have left the Christ out of Christmas and there may be some validity to this, however, Christ only
plays a part in the holdiay season for christians. Those not of the faith or those of other believing whatever it is we
believe, what is are excuse for inexcusable and brutish behavior? I will be the first person to admitt I am not without fault.
The many years I worked in retail have jaded me to the holiday seasons. Not only does retail allow you to see the worst in
people, but it forces you to deal with it, sometimes for not much more than minimum wage. Where is the justice?

I can't tell you how many Black Fridays I spent in the hands of rich and poor alike, being tortured mercilessly because
the retail gods had yet again failed, "Mr.&Mrs. John Q. Customer." So there is frustration and we all know we need to vent that
frustration somewhere, otherwise we get nasty things like cancer or heart disease. But, is it really the fault of the 17 year-old behind
the counter at Target, that everyone on the planet wants a Playstation 3 and that Sony only shipped 36 (gross under-exaggeration)
of them to the U.S.? No, it's not and those people who sell those same 36 PS3's on ebay for $20k are going to burn in hell.
And so I wrote it and so it shall be done!

We are living in a day and age where the cost of living is taking to great a toll on our own lives. We struggle to push ourselves through
marathon shifts at work, to make more money, to buy more things for ourselves or others, to entertain us in the few hours we are not at
work or school. No one spends time together anymore and the economy is largely to blame for this, but if you stop and think for a second,
is it really the things you get for the holidays that are important to you? Personally, I can't remember when I received a present that meant
more to me than family. I know it sounds cliche but to be honest, I was so sick as a young child, just being able to sit and have a meal with
family and tell stories and laugh...that's why the holidays, more specifically Christmas were special to me.

I know the nuclear family is a thing of the past, but if there is not a family, hopefully there are friends and if not friends, hopefully you can
find it in your heart to invite someone over for a meal and some company. People are so glad when the holidays are over because there
is no more racing around buying shit. Think about how much more relaxed we would all be if we just spend more time stoping and listening
to one another. At any rate, it would keep me from wanting to drive to work with a high caliber hand gun on the passenger seat.

I hope you all are well and wish you very happy and healthy holiday seasons!

Cheers,
JJ

Monday, December 11, 2006

Moonshine Monday...

Ok...

Were gonna open this bitch up as if I haven't not posted since we invaded the rest of the world.

I'd love to say I've been busy beating the women off with a stick
or just busy with the women
hell, I'd like to say I've just been busy beatin' off...

but none of that would be true.

Work has been consuming the majority of my time and energy and when those to things are not
sucking on me like a bus station hooker, I can usually be found reading, playing video games or
wasting mind-boggling amounts of time on the internet. (Oddly enough...not updating this blog)

However in addition to all of this frivolous time wastage, there has been some introspection and
after thought. When it all comes down to it, the answer I have been looking for is simple.

I have to leave Rhode Island.

Plain and simple.

While I do love it here, realistically, I'm never going to be more than a wage slave here. Now, I may
move to another state and still be a wage slave, but I will be building equity in a place that I don't
hate living in. I place that is possible to heat in the winter and maybe, just maybe a place that
will afford me the room for an in-ground pool and greenhouse.

Am I asking too much? I don't think so. I mean fresh fruit and veggies and the ability to puddle
around in the pool in the summer, are these lofty goals? Should they require the same work as
amassing a king's ransom or winning the McDongle's version of monopoly? I think not.

So... in short, this Red Sox lovin' yankee is heading south of the mason dixon...hopefully sooner
rather than later.

I hope you all are well.

Cheers,
JJ